Skip links

ASTAC Board Member News Release

During the first week of November, ASTAC’s team and board held their 2021 annual meetings in each service community. Quorum was met for every community, through online voting, mail-in ballots and in-person meeting attendance.

Nuiqsut resident Olivia Cabinboy was elected to a three-year term to the board of directors of the Arctic Slope Telephone Association Cooperative. Cabinboy succeeds Nuiqsut resident Marlene Bolt. ASTAC’s team and board would like to thank Marlene for her dedication and years of service.

Despite the unusual conditions due to COVID-19, ASTAC held its meetings virtually for the second year. ASTAC was able to outline recent retired capital credits, share executive reports with the members and pass bylaw amendments that were proposed to all members.

ASTAC is proud of its accomplishments in the past year and is looking forward to continued success in 2022. On behalf of the entire board and management team, thank you to all who participated and voted in the recent election.

ASTAC CEO Jens Laipenieks shared that, “the ASTAC team misses in-person meetings, but our top priority is to ensure the safety of our members and staff through the pandemic. We hope to return to in-person opportunities’ very soon.”