Skip links


Swoosh Is Back!

Since 2009, ASTAC has been proud to host a free throw competition in the eight residential villages we serve. This north slope past time is called Swoosh. It is a family-friendly event that brings our communities together for an evening of basketball and a great time to spend with members in our service communities. Along with the competition we have team members available before the event for device sales and any assistance requested. 

This year's grand prize winner will win a trip for two to the 2024 NCAA Men's Final Four tournament in Phoenix, AZ. All North Slope Borough residents are eligible to participate and need not be an ASTAC member.

Official 2023 Schedule

June 1, 2023 ThursdayPoint HopeTikigaq School7:00PM
June 6, 2023TuesdayWainwrightAlak School7:00PM
June 8, 2023ThursdayAtqasukMeade River School7:00PM
June 12, 2023MondayNuiqsutNuiqsut Trapper School7:00PM
June 14, 2023WednesdayAnaktuvuk PassNunamiut School7:00PM
June 16, 2023FridayUtqiaġvikHopson Middle School7:00PM
June 19, 2023MondayKaktovikCultural Center7:00PM
June 24th, 2023SaturdayPoint LayKali School7:00PM

Prizes Are What It’s All About

2023 GRAND PRIZE: (1 winner)
Package for 2: Game tickets to NCAA Men’s Final Four Basketball Tournament 2024, round trip airfare to-and-from Phoenix, AZ, and lodging. Grand prize drawing will be held in Anchorage once all Swoosh contests have concluded.

  • Meals and transportation in Phoenix, AZ are not provided by ASTAC and are the responsibility of the winner.
  • If the grand prize winner is under the age of 18, he or she must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • Airfare itinerary will be booked with ASTAC staff. Any changes to airline or hotel reservations after confirmation will be at the winner’s expense.

2023 FIRST PLACE: (8 winners, 1 in each village)
$200 Visa Gift Card & entry into grand prize drawing

2023 SECOND PLACE: (8 winners, 1 in each village)
Nike Gym Bag

2022 Swoosh Winners

 Grand Prize Winner 

Jeremy Simmonds, Atqasuk

CommunityFirst PlaceSecond Place
Point LayLola TukrookMichael Henry
WainwrightJay AguvlukRoxanne Nayakik
AtqasukJeremy SimmondsJacquline Ahkivgak
Anaktuvuk PassKristen MorryHugo Kakinya
NuiqsutMary RexfordJames Killbear
KaktovikBertrand BrittChester Toovak
UtqiaġvikBen LaneJoanna Lane
Point HopeNellie KaigelakPaul Kaigelak